Day 2 – Gyeongbukgung, Gwanghwamun, Bukchon Hanok Village, Myeongdong

Woke up with a bloated face because of beer last night πŸ˜…

Got the famous banana milk from GS25 (convenience store) for breakfast. Our guesthouse provides simple western style breakfast – bread, a variety of cereals, roasted eggs (?), milk/juices, or you can opt for coffee/tea, all self serviced, till 1030hrs. You may eat as much as you want, as long as you keep the place clean.

Was really excited for today's agenda because the places are all Seoul-Must-Go!

But first of all, here's where we spent most of our time in Seoul – subway station πŸ˜‚

I love how easily accessible the places are here in Seoul. Makes commuting so much convenient!

Took the subway to gyeongbukgung station. See what I mean? There is a station just outside the palace!!

The kids here damn hangfuk can!

Also very guai and discipline! They walk in pairs, holding hands and really listen well to their teachers!

At their age I was prolly putting sand in my mouth in the garden wtf hahahahha.

Floor plan of the Gyeongbukgung

There were a few palaces all located in the same area, but judging from the floor plan of just one palace, we doubt that we can even finish all of them within one day. Also, we figured they are prolly more or less similar. So we only bought admission ticket for Gyeongbukgung.

We wanted to rent hanbok and walk around but couldn't locate the booth for rental UNTIL the end before we left 😩

Izzzz okay. Now I have a reason to come back again huhu 😬

🏯

I have a thing for frames like these β›©

It's really scenic in here. Simply snap also turn out nice 😍

Took like gazillions of pictures and I like ALL of them so I'm gonna start spamming πŸ™ˆ

From one of the Gyeongbukgung exit, you may enter to the National Folk Museum of Korea. Admission is free and it's worth a visit! πŸ€“

Korean first birthday celebration πŸŽ‚

They dress their child in traditional hanbok, and serve food (different for different gender!), then place a variety of objects in front of the child. It is believed that the object first picked up will foretell the child's future.

Almost similar to Chinese tradition (ζŠ“ε‘¨)!

This street was full of display houses/shops of olden days. There were barber shop, shop selling herbs, food, cloth and fabric, etc

🚞

Exited NFMK and walked to the main entrance of Gyeongbukgung again to catch the changing of royal guards ceremony.

Here's one with the royal guard outside Gyeongbukgung 😎

I almost forgot he was a real person, thought it was a statue when I was near him and almost wanted to put my arm on him to pose wtf lol! He was that still!!!! Thank goodness I came back to my senses a few micro secs before I did so hahahha. Well that explained why I look so … rigid. Look at my hands whey hahahahha πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Crossed the road to take this pic of Gwanghwamun, which is actually a gate in front of Gyeongbukgung (?)

Gwanghwamun plaza, which is just across the road.

The boy found his favourite German beer so beer night again lol

Statue of King Sejong

πŸ“ Bukchon Hanok Village

Located 15 mins walk away from Gwanghwamun plaza. It's just 5 mins if you exit Gyeongbukgung from the National Folk Museum of Korea

/Surrounded by Gyeongbokgung Palace, Changdeokgung Palace and Jongmyo Shrine, Bukchon Hanok Village is home to hundreds of traditional houses, called hanok, that date back to the Joseon Dynasty.

The name Bukchon, which literally translates to "northern village," came about as the neighborhood lies north of two significant Seoul landmarks, Cheonggyecheon Stream and Jongno.

Today, many of these hanoks operate as cultural centers, guesthouses, restaurants and tea houses, providing visitors with an opportunity to experience, learn and immerse in Korean traditional culture/ -VisitKorea official website

I would've moved away if my residential area is flooded by (loud and noisy) tourists on daily basis πŸ˜…

I loooooveeeeee this place!!!!

It was gorgeous!! There were about 10 attractions in this area and we've been to … none πŸ˜”

Only stayed for awhile because I think I was the only one who was interested in this place, the others were fidgeting and restless ady. Plus it was late afternoon and the sun was out, on top of that, we've been walking since morning. I can't be inconsiderate and selfish and insist to make them walk the whole village just because I want nice pictures right πŸ˜…

There's always next time!

MORE reasons to come back again! πŸ™ˆ

🌳

πŸ“Myeongdong

This is the place I went crazy over practically everything!!!

Skincare products all so cheap here omg I wanna lug everything back!!

I tend to do impulsive purchases and end up wasting money most of the time so I went in to every shop muttering to self not to buy so much thinking I'd have time to get it again if I really want it since it's only the second day.

Boy was I wrong.

It turned out we had no time for second visits and now I'm really regretting my decision. 😭

I only came back with 20 Nature Republic + 15 Mediheal facial mask sheets, Mamonde Rose Water toner, Etude House BB cream (for my cousin) AND THAT'S ALL. 😭😭😭😭

Should've spent all my money there and then pfffftttt! No money to come home also nvm!!!!

Lol just joking πŸ˜…

Street food 😍

Look at that glorious yolk! I don't know the Korean name of this but it was pancake with cabbage inside, topped with a bullseye, some sauce and lotsa bonito flakes!

Egg buns!

Anything egg is good 😍

This was bombdiggity! Bun was fluffy, taste like our kuih bahulu. The egg on top gave a twist to the sweetness of the bun! Perfect combination of sweet and savoury πŸ‘πŸ»

The boy also had some teppanyaki styled Korean beef. At the cost of 6000 KRW (around MYR 22), I'd say it fares well! Taste better (and cheaper) than the steak we had at Suzy corner the other day huhu

After a round of shopping we headed back to HongDae.

His sister and mum didn't fancy street food so we went to a restaurant nearby for dinner.

Again, language barrier made food ordering exceptionally difficult lol. Totally over-ordered – 2 sets of boiled pork trotters (which was way toooooooo greasy and heavy 😩) and a set of spicy buckwheat cold noodles (love!)

We were too full from dinner so the boy and I went out for a walk around the neighbourhood. It was a Friday night so the streets were really crowded with people, babies/kids and pet dogs. There were street performance everywhere. Youngsters were all out having fried chicken and beer by the street.

The streets are so clean people just sit on the grass and have a picnic!

Our nightly GS25 run.

Look at the variety of beverages they have! πŸ’–

They asell fresh bananas too! 🍌

πŸ‘£

Mask night!

The weather made our skin really dry! The boy's face was peeling by the end of the day so I *generously* gave him a piece of my Mediheal facial mask sheet, also used one for myself. πŸ˜›

Leave a comment